Hoist by my own enthusiasm

Chris Overworked

Image: Flickr Commons : Ferrell McCollough
It’s nearly the end of what has been a crazy and chaotic year in my life as a school librarian.

I haven’t blogged since May. Why? Possibly because I am doing the work of more than one Librarian and sabotaging my own success by enthusiastically taking on too much.

For me the end of this year is a time of reflection, on the good and bad. I should be patting myself on the back for having been an integral part of a team that successfully launched ebooks into our school and the hands of my students. Instead, I am feeling guilty about all the other things I didn’t do well. ‘Stretched too thin’ is what comes to mind – with no area in my domain covered really well and most ‘at standard’, possibly some below.

Things I will muse over while on hoiliday:

  • how libraries are affected by the digital shift to e-content – it isn’t one format over another
  • how our roles in schools have changed – yes the future is exciting but someone still has to shelve the books!
  • why Librarians tend to take on and give too much and what it means for us professionally and personally
  • can I get my mojo back?

Would love some reflections from others in a similar mind space.

One thought on “Hoist by my own enthusiasm”

  1. Hi
    Don’t be so hard on yourself. It isn’t easy. I really get uptight about how schools juggle librarians and books and budgets and often that prevents us from doing our job well. So many schools have hours and budgets slash and then worry about falling literacy standards as if there was no connection. Duh! Just saying! Looking forward to your posts.

Leave a Reply

