Starring Jules (as herself) by Beth Ain

alt=beth-ain-starring jules as herself

Starring Jules (as herself) By Beth Ain. Published by Allen & Unwin/Scholastic, 2013 (March). (Starring Jules book 1), Paperback rrp NZ15.00.

From the publisher:

“A hilarious chapter book that follows the charming Jules Bloom as she navigates big city adventures (including an Opportunity of a Lifetime) and the universal trials and tribulations of turning eight.Lights! Camera! Action! A hilarious chapter book debut from a fabulous new talent…”

Things to Know About Me by Jules Bloom
1. I am a scrambled-eggs-and-chocolate-milk type person.
2. I have an audition for a TV commercial (which would be great if I were a tall-icy-drink type person.)
3. I am in between best friends right now.
4. I am worried that the audition will be a disaster. (See #1 and #3!)

Jules doesn’t want to ruin THE OPPORTUNITY OF A LIFETIME, and she’s willing to turn to anyone for help–even her know-it-all ex-best friend! If only that lovely new girl in class would turn out to be the new best friend of her dreams, maybe, just maybe, Jules will be ready for her close-up….

What do I think about this book?

I enjoyed the book – this one will be a hit with some of the 7-9 year old girls in my student body.  The size and style of the book and it’s very American flavor will appeal to those girls who given a choice would prefer watching Disney Channel comedies to reading books (I have a few of these in my community and it takes time and persistance to win them over!) This is light and fun and I hope, good fodder for reluctant readers as the drama angle will appeal to those dreaming of future stardom and the spotlight. Jules is a good natured likable character, she’s sassy (but still sweet) and a lot of fun. I liked the way she worked through her friendship troubles, and also how she felt good about being an individual rather than changing her personality to fit in with her peers.  I will be recommending the book to a lovely group of girls that I think will match this brilliantly! I need more books suitable for this age just like this.

Thank you to Allen & Unwin for providing me with an advance readers copy for review. I was also delighted to receive a copy this week as part of my Scholastic NZ Junior Chapter book ‘standing order’.

Leave a Reply

