Hello,Tanith Low…More for Skulduggery Pleasant fans….

Image

One of the book series which has proven to be extremely popular amongst my Year 5 and 6 readers is Derek Landy’s “Skulduggery Pleasant”. I finally decided to bite the bullet and have begun reading the first book in the series this summer. As I was exploring Derek Landy’s blog I read about this book and decided my students who love this series need to know about this! Coming up on April 1 2013 is a new novel featuring villainous character “Tanith Low” from the SP books…..I believe is it a “one-off” rather than the start of new but related series, and at 288 pages it is a bit shorter than the very satisfying Skulduggery Pleasant books.

From the publisher: This time, the bad guys take the stage. Tanith Low, now possessed by a remnant, recruits a gang of villains – many of whom will be familiar from previous Skulduggery adventures – in order to track down and steal the four God-Killer level weapons that could hurt Darquesse when she eventually emerges. Also on the trail of the weapons is a secret group of Sanctuary sorcerers, and doing his best to keep up and keep Tanith alive is one Mister Ghastly Bespoke. When the villains around her are lying and scheming and plotting, Tanith needs to stay two steps ahead of her teammates and her enemies. After all, she’s got her own double-crosses to plan – and she’s a villain herself…

What do I think about this book?
It is quite an irony that Skulduggery Pleasant books often came up in lists by Librarians and Bloggers as being a good read for kids hungering for a Harry Potter readalike. The Skulduggery Pleasant series has become so popular, that I have readers asking me for Skulduggery Pleasant readalikes! I am intrigued as in the first book which I am reading now, I have just met Tanith Low and she seems to have some good in her? I obviously need to keep reading the whole series so I can find out what happens with her. This book will be pre-ordered so that we have it as soon as it is released, because I know it will be extremely popular.

RELATED POSTS:

Leave a Reply

